List of Debts Owed by Each Nigerian State as it hits N4.2tn
NBS Releases List of Debts Owed by Each Nigerian State

Nigerian states including the Federal Capital Territory are debt to the tune of N4.2tn according to the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS).

With the latest report, Lagos State accounted for 12.15 percent of the debt stock as of the end of 2020 while Jigawa state had the least debt stock in this category with a contribution of 0.74 per cent.

Here is the list of states with their current debt profiles.

Abia – N89.12bn

Adamawa – N98.9bn

Akwa Ibom – N230.8bn

Anambra – N59.97bn

Bauchi – N102.8bn

Bayelsa – N144.13bn

Benue – N126.12bn

Borno – N89.05bn

River – N163.16bn,

Delta – N248.45bn

Ebonyi – N44.21bn

Edo – N80.78bn

Ekiti – N84.97bn

Enugu – N68.09bn

Gombe – N84.72tn

Imo – N150.2bn

Jigawa – N30.97bn

Kaduna – N68.75bn

Kano – N116.93bn

Katsina – N48.03bn

Kebbi – N56.81bn

Kogi – N68.09bn

Kwara – N63.63bn

Lagos – N508.78bn

Nasarawa – N59.4bn

Niger – N66.77bn

Ogun – N153.49bn

Ondo – N74.66bn

Osun – N134.11bn

Oyo – N94.5bn

Plateau – N137.8bn

Rivers – N266.9bn

Sokoto – N42.36bn

Taraba – N106.04bn

Yobe – N54.87bn

Zamfara – N98.02bn

FCT – N69.5bn

According to Debt Management Office, Nigeria’s total public debt rose to N32.9tn at the end of December 2020.

The report from the DMO said the figure stood at N32.2tn as of the end of September 2020. This consequently showed an increase of N700bn.

Source: LegitNG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here