community leaders
community leaders

No fewer than seven community leaders have been killed by gunmen in Mmahu autonomous community in Ohaji/Egbema LGA of Imo state.

The community leaders were reportedly killed by the gunmen who invaded the community on Tuesday morning.

Charles Mgaraho, president-general of the community, and six other leaders were killed in the attack.

The other leaders were identified as Edeme Okoro, Issac Ojenna, Anene Funky, Chasity Paulinus, Ndubuisi Nwabuishi, and Ifeyirinwoke Junior.

Elvis Iheanacho, an indigene of the community who confirmed the incident to TheCable, lamented the bloodshed and asked God to “come to our rescue and remove all the evildoers or anybody that will instigate problem in our land”.

Another source said the attackers invaded the houses of their targets and killed them one after the other.

TheCable learnt the hoodlums fled the scene immediately after killing the community leaders.

“We are still in a state of confusion. We are yet to understand what really happened. The hoodlums invaded our community and the homes of prominent leaders of our community, killed seven of them, including the president general,” the source said.

“It was like a warlike situation yesterday. They shot indiscriminately, killed their targets; seven of them before zooming off. The incident had been reported at the police station and their bodies removed.”

Micheal Abbatam, Imo police spokesman, also confirmed the incident to TheCable. He said details of the attack will be released soon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here