NWC members
NWC members

Four members of the national working committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have threatened to resign their positions.

The NWC is the executive committee of the PDP. It sees to the day-to-day running of the party. It comprises 12 members who are elected every four years and it is headed by the national chairman.

TheCable learnt the four members of the NWC threatened to resign if the leadership crisis jolting the party is not resolved.

TheCable understands that one of them is Udeh Okoye, national youth leader of the party.

There is growing discontent with Uche Secondus as national chairman of the PDP.

Kassim Afegbua, a member of the party, had alleged financial malfeasance against the party’s national chairman.

The allegation, even though Secondus denied any wrongdoing and filed charges against the accuser, persists in the PDP circle.

The latest mallet dangling over the PDP comes a few hours after seven deputy national officers of the party resigned their positions, citing ”poor leadership” by Secondus-led executive of the PDP as their reason.

TheCable had reported that the national officers who resigned also alleged a lack of financial transparency on the part of the leadership.

Reacting to the resignations, the PDP through Kola Ologbondinyan, its spokesman, said it activated an “internal conflict resolution mechanism” to reconcile aggrieved members of the party.

“The party will look into their grievances raised by members of NEC as well as members of the national working committee (NWC),” the statement said.

Some members of the party have also called for the resignation of Secondus who is speculated to be staying put at the pleasure of Nyesom Wike, governor of Rivers state.

The PDP has witnessed a leaping exit of some of its stakeholders in recent times. Three governors, David Umahi of Ebonyi; Ben Ayade of Cross River, and Bello Matawalle of Zamfara have left the party.

On Wednesday, Joy Emordi, former senator from Anambra and member of the PDP board of trustees (BoT), announced her defection to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Source: The CableNG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here