Governorship polls
Governorship polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Monday released more results of Saturday’s governorship poll with anointed candidates of some governors losing the poll.

All the results so far declared as of 10 pm on Monday indicated that the All Progressives Congress won the governorship polls in 15 states including Sokoto, Katsina, Jigawa, Gombe, Lagos, Kwara, Niger, Yobe, Nasarawa, C’River, Ebonyi, Ogun, Benue, Kaduna and Borno.

The Peoples Democratic Party on the other hand won Plateau, Bauchi, Oyo, Delta, Rivers and Akwa Ibom states while the New Nigeria Peoples Party emerged victorious in Kano.

The results of the election in Abia and Enugu States were delayed following the dispute between the Labour Party and the PDP over the results from some local government areas.

To resolve the issues, INEC suspended further collation of the governorship election results pending a review of the process of the contentious balloting in parts of the two states.

On Sunday, INEC declared Governors Seyi Makinde (Oyo, PDP) Dapo Abiodun (Ogun, APC), Muhammadu Yahaya (Gombe, APC), Babatunde Sanwo-Olu (Lagos, APC), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe, APC) and Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (Kwara, APC) the winners of the governorship election.

Also, the PDP candidate in Akwa Ibom State, Pastor Umo Eno and Dr Dikko Radda of the APC in Katsina also emerged as the governors-elect.

The APC candidate in Sokoto State, Ahmed Sokoto, and his counterpart in Jigawa State, Namadi Dammodi, were declared governors-elect.

However, the anointed candidates of the Kano State Governor, Umar Ganduje; his counterpart for Plateau State, Simon Lalong, Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto) and Samuel Ortom (Benue) were defeated by the opposition parties.

Ganduje failed the NNPP in Kano as the opposition candidate, Abba Yusuf, was declared the governor-elect, defeating Yusuf Gawuna.

Gawuna, who is the deputy governor of the state, was Ganduje’s anointed candidate, while Yusuf was backed by the NNPP presidential candidate and ex-Kano governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso.

The INEC returning officer, Ahmad Ibrahim, announced that Yusuf won the election with 1,019,602 votes, while Gawuna got 890,705 votes.

Yusuf had contested against Ganduje in 2019 in what was regarded as a very controversial election, which went into supplementary polls in 28 out of the 44 local government areas in the state.

Ganduje-backed candidate

At the end of the first election, Yusuf was leading Ganduje with 26,655 votes. Yusuf, who was at the time the PDP candidate polled 1,014,474 votes while Ganduje got 987,819 votes.

Ganduje eventually won by scoring 45,876 votes while Yusuf amassed 10,239 in the supplementary polls.

Meanwhile, the opposition PDP has retaken the Plateau State governor’s office from the APC after eight years of Lalong in power.

Its candidate, Caleb Mutfwang, was declared the winner of the election by the Returning Officer and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Lafia , Prof Idris Amali at exactly 3:33 pm on Monday after collating results from the 17 local government areas of the state.

Recall that the PDP had been in power in the state from 1999 to 2015 when Lalong dislodged the party.

Lalong also won re-election in 2019 to retain power until last Saturday’s polls.

Declaring Mutfwang as the duly elected governor at the INEC collation centre in Jos, the state capital, Amali said that the PDP candidate polled 525,299 votes to defeat the rival APC candidate, Dr Nentawe Yilwatda who had 481,370 votes.

He stated, “I’m going to declare the results that I have here. There are 18 contestants. That Caleb Manesah Mutfwang of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements by the law, is hereby returned and declared the winner.’’

According to the results, the PDP candidate won in 10 LGAs while his APC counterpart won in seven LGAs.

Sokoto poll

In Sokoto, Tambuwal’s anointed candidate was defeated by his APC candida who was declared the winner of the governorship election in the state.

The state Collation Officer, Bichi Amaya’u, who announced the result late Sunday night, said Sokoto garnered 453,661 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Saidu Ubandoma who polled 404,632.

The governor-elect, an ally of a former governor of Sokoto State and s senator, Aliyu Wamakko, was the deputy to Tambuwal during his first tenure between 2015 and 2019.

In 2019, he contested against Tambuwal, a member of the PDP, and lost with a close margin of 342 votes after a re-run.

Also, the APC candidate in Benue State, Rev Fr Hyacinth Alia, was declared the governor-elect on Monday by the Returning Officer, Prof Faruk Kuta.

The cleric routed Ortom’s candidate, Titus Uba of the PDP, to emerge the winner of the poll.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here